# Reset a Client Secret 

Web Server Applications use Confidential Clients and require a Secret for authorization. The following steps describe how to reset a Client Secret. (We recommend that you rotate the Client Secret periodically).

1. In the Developer Portal, navigate to **My Apps** tab and select the Team from the drop-down menu. This opens the My Apps page showing the list of Apps created for the selected Team.
2. Click on **Configure** button for an App. This opens the App info to show the details of the selected App.
3. Click the **Clients** tab on the left pane.
4. Click the **Configure** button on the right side of the row that contains the Web Server Application Client, whose secret needs to be reset.
5. Click **Reset Secret** button as shown.
![reset-secret](/assets/reset-secret.1a3bf64a6ea393a6b55ee98f26d0e022bad5b0162f1d1017735fe5f635f75997.a7be0e25.png)
6. Click **Confirm**. This will generate a new Secret that you can copy using the copy icon on the popup and save for future reference.